Traditional food

Za sve gurmane i one koji ce to tek postati. Preporucite restoran, napisite nam svoj novi recept da nam slinica curi...
Mary_greece_34
vrtic
vrtic

Traditional food

Post by Mary_greece_34 »

Please tell me some traditional foods of your country that you would recommend to a guest. If you want write ingredients and recipes. :)
honky
sous chef
sous chef

Re: Traditional food

Post by honky »

I'm no expert, but I'll give it a shot. :cer:

Ok, a very simplified take on my country's (Croatia) national cuisine is that there are two distinctively different types of cuisine.

I would say the southern, coastal part is your typical Mediterranean cuisine (staples being olive oil, seafood, fish, parsley, garlic, etc).

One of the most famous dishes is called "brudet" ->http://www.englishmanindubrovnik.com/co ... an-brudet/

Northern part was historically more under the influence of the Austro-Hungarian empire, which can be traced in the local diet and eating preferences - red meat (pork especially), different types of cured meat, stews with sauteed onions as a base, freshwater fish, lots of dairy products and stronger spices (red pepper powder), etc.

One of the signature dishes is called "štrukli"-Image

And since I'm of Bosnian descent, I have to say that Bosnian cuisine is everything. :zaljub:
But there're people here who can tell you a lot more about it.
“You said, 'They’re harmless dreamers and they’re loved by the people.' 'What,' I asked you, 'is harmless about a dreamer, and what,' I asked you, 'is harmless about the love of the people?"
Mary_greece_34
vrtic
vrtic

Post by Mary_greece_34 »

Thanks honky, you're giving me ideas! :)

I'll try to cook something and I will tell you my opinion! :)
honky
sous chef
sous chef

Post by honky »

By all means, please do. :)

Perhaps you could join at "Cuisine ala Jela" also.